Argument: Body Image

Visual Argument

NAME: Chantal Phillips

Title of this project: Beauty To Die For

Coming to Terms with Your Own Work

1) Discuss the resources, materials, and technologies employed in the generation of this text.

In this project, I found images from Google. I utilized Microsoft Word to construct this argument.

1) Discuss the specific conditions in, under, or with which the final product will be experienced—the context.

In the final draft, this argument will be more appealing to the eyes. The way I structured my argument was not logical. In the final draft the reader will experience will be straight forward and less confusing.

1) Comment on the present strengths and limits of your piece—those aspects or sections you’re pleased with and those you want to work more on.

I like that may images provoke emotions with my peers. And the fact they are actually genuine average people in these images, I believe strengthens my argument.

1) Discuss the argument made—the claims and support—and how the visual choices you made in your design support this argument.

My argument is: Sending young girls the message that implies starvation is accurate representation of beauty is a contradiction.

Process Notes

What was going on in the process of composing? How did I compose it? What worked well for me? Where did I struggle? Where did I get lost and when did things break down? Where did I get a good idea and how did I get a good idea, etc.  I was thinking about your comment about “thinking outside the box”. I didn’t want to make another simple commercial argument. Unfortunately, society reinforces this idea by only hiring skinny woman to become models for high fashion. I believe that we are promoting starvation rather than a healthy life style. I decided to add an image of a starving child as contrast for the main image. The model and the child’s body image both resemble each other, yet one is suffering from their current state while the other one is ripping the runway. In my argument, I used juxtaposition to make my position more clear. My ad asks us to make a choice between two clear option, starvation or beauty. “What are we promoting?” and “Who are they mocking?” are the two questions I want the audiences to ponder on.

Comparative Notes

How was working on this particular project different from what I’ve done in papers for other classes? How was it similar?

I could relate this to my other writing classes because all my other professors don’t like when students “beat around the bush” when they are writing and/or explain their argument. They would actual take points off if we did that. They always say be sure that your argument is clear, clean, and cohesive in our papers. Here, that rule can be applied. We don’t want to confuse or complicate things for the reader especially when we have a short time with their attention. I will consider this rule as we move forward in the semester. I guess this rule also just reinforces the idea that visual arguments are a form of communication. If it wasn’t than rule that are important in writing wouldn’t be relevant for image arguing.

 

I created a deliberative argument that focus on body image. I wanted the audience to think about what anorexia mostly resembles: starvation or beauty. Often young girls interpret skinny as beauty. Unfortunately, society reinforces this idea by only hiring skinny woman to become models for high fashion. I believe that we are promoting starvation rather than a healthy life style. I decided to add an image of a starving child as contrast for the main image. The model and the child’s body image both resemble each other, yet one is suffering from their current state while the other one is ripping the runway. In my argument, I used juxtaposition to make my position more clear. My ad asks us to make a choice between two clear option, starvation or beauty. “What are we promoting?” and “Who are they mocking?” are the two questions I want the audiences to ponder on. My visual argument forces they audience to think often quickly, make a choice, and take a stand. The words in the image reinforce this message but don’t add much more to the argument. Argument often means presenting a claim or position along with reason or an explanation why should accept the legitimacy of that position. I added two images of young girls engaging in behaviors that illustrates that beauty is being skinny. So it is clear that the girls are associating beauty or attractiveness with being skinny like the model. In a sense, the image of the ordinary girls represents the question and the image of starving child and the model represent the other two position. I also tried to provoke emotion by using an image of a child that is from a third world country. Hopefully, the image of the child provokes the idea that he is enduring involuntary starvation and poverty. I wanted this image to affect the audience’s implicit and explicit attitude negatively. The claim is that “we” are promoting starvation in our country.

I basically used Google to gather all the images. I used Paint program on a Dell  computer to design and combine the images. I picked anorexia because last semester I took a Health behavior course and one of the topics we discussed was anorexia with women. We watched a movie of some women in a rehabilitation facility. I couldn’t believe that these women thought being skinny was the true definition of beauty. All day they would try to find ways to not to eat. I know anorexia is an psychological disorder. They view themselves as fat when truly are deteriorating.  I felt an image illustrating starvation would be striking and emotion provoking.

The thing I struggled the most with was not writing my argument on the image. I am use verbally defending my position. It was hard to give the image the opportunity to plead y case. With other course, the sky is the limit when it comes to creating an argument. We often think in my writing courses “if you can think it, we were able to write it”. This form of argument is new to me, so it was kind of hard to produce an image under that same philosophy. I believe the weakness of my image is the organization of the ad. I believe my strengths are the images themselves, text, and colors.

This entry was published on February 20, 2012 at 9:26 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

